Ice Cream in a Bag

Nothing beats homemade ice cream on a hot summers day. With this quick and easy recipe you don’t even need an ice cream maker – just a bag and a few simple ingredients.


Here’s what you need:

  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup milk or half & half
  • 6 Tbsp rock salt
  • 1 pint-size plastic food zipped storage bag
  • 1 gallon-size plastic food zipped storage bag
  • Ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Fill the gallon-sized bag half full of ice, and add the rock salt. Seal the bag.
  2. Put the milk, vanilla, and sugar into the pint-size bag, and seal it.
  3. Put the small bag inside the large one, and seal it again.
  4. Shake until the mixture is ice cream, which takes about 5 minutes.
  5. Wipe off the top of the small bag, then carefully open it.
  6. Enjoy!

Serving: one scoop of ice cream.


This entry was posted in Activities and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ice Cream in a Bag

  1. You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who
    are not afraid to mention how they believe. All
    the time follow your heart.

  2. Pingback: 10 Ways Your Child With Special Needs Can Stay Cool This Summer | The Ableplay™ Blog

  3. Katie Harris says:

    I want to do this with the kids at my summer program…how much does this make for?

  4. Jessica & Jacinda says:

    I use to do this when I was a kid but we did it with the metal coffee cans. I always loved making this. My daughter and i are doing this today. :)

  5. Pingback: Ice & Water Play : 38 Ways to Beat the Heat | hands on : as we grow

  6. Kimberly says:

    I made this today with my boys and I used Almond milk instead of regular and kosher salt instead of rock salt (I didn’t have regular milk or rock salt). It turned out great! I read that the finer your salt and ice is, the creamier your ice cream will be.

  7. We’re glad everyone’s so excited about trying out this yummy activity. We’ll be looking forward to hearing about your experience making ice cream!

  8. Kim says:

    Excited to try this with my kiddos!

  9. I’ve been wanting to try this for awhile, but I didn’t realize it was this simple!

  10. grandmacarol says:

    I do not want to sound stupid but the same “rock salt” you use onsnow/ice in the winter?

    • Barb Purdy says:

      Rock salt is course salt.. you buy it in grocery store.. it can also be used for pickling.. you use it because it makes the ice even colder.

Leave a Reply

