A Sweet Measuring Activity – Oatmeal Cookies

Ms. Spoon has been teaching the Pre-K students all about measuring. Here is a great recipe so you can practice at home. If you get a chance, please send us a photo of you measuring with your kids to share with the teachers. Or, better yet, you can bring Ms. Spoon one of your homemade cookies! 🙂


Ms. Audrey’s Favorite Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

¾ cup Softened Butter
1 cup Brown Sugar
1 Egg
1 Tablespoon Milk
1 teaspoon Vanilla
1 ½ cups Oatmeal
1 cup flour
½ teaspoon Baking Soda
½ teaspoon Salt
½ teaspoon Cinnamon
2 cups Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Preheat your oven to 350°. With a mixer, cream the brown sugar and butter together. (I NEVER remember to soften my butter before I start, but I have figured out that if I microwave the butter for 2 minutes 30 second on power level 2, it is soft enough. On my microwave I push “cook time” 2:30, and then “cook power”.

Next mix in the egg, milk, and vanilla. Add the oats and flour and mix slowly until wet and then mix thoroughly. Add the soda, salt and cinnamon, mix again. And finally, add the chocolate chips. If you want to add several kinds of chips or chips and raisins, or just raisins, that will work, just keep it close to 2 cups of add ins. Drop the cookies (about 1 Tablespoon of dough per cookie) on a cookie sheet and bake for 12-13 minutes. Let them cool on the pan for about 2 minutes and the move them to a cooling rack to cool completely. Enjoy!! *** Confession from Ms. Audrey: Cookies are my very favorite food, and these are my very favorite cookies. I must admit that I have eaten an entire dozen of these cookies by myself before, and have forgotten that cookies are NOT a breakfast food! In my mind it goes like this, “These can’t be any worse that pancakes with syrup, right?”

This entry was posted in Activities, Numbers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

